Marketing — Why Snackable Content Is Really Junk Content

It should be banned before we all get braindead

Smillew Rahcuef
4 min readDec 28, 2020
Woman with face on a plate, sticking out her tongue covered with colourful sprinkles.
That’s me having a little snack by https://www.pexels.com/@cleytonewerton

When I asked my digital-marketing friend what were her thoughts on one of my Facebook pages, she said:

Your posts are way too long; you must make them snackable.

I loathed the word immediately. My brain and stomach hurt just at the sound of it.

‘Snackable content’ is constructed as a marketing analogy to snack food. Jay Fuchs defines it as a:

straightforward, short-form, easily digestible content that lends itself to being passively consumed and shared on social media.

In this quote above, the word content appears contradictory to every other. I don’t think content is straightforward and easily digestible, and it should certainly not “lend itself to being passively consumed.” In any case, not the content I want to see and not the content I want my children and people I care for to see.

It sounds more junk content than snackable to me.

You could argue that content doesn’t have to be complicated and long, quoting the 17th-century French poet Boileau: “Whatever we conceive well we express clearly, and words flow

--

--

Smillew Rahcuef

One day I will stop writing on Medium. Read my stories while you can.